Welcome to Turner County Georgia...

This site is designed to bring our citizens closer to county government and to keep you informed about what is going on.  Our Mission is to provide the most fair and efficient services possible to the citizens of Turner County in a timely manner.  To receive the latest news sign up for our email alerts.

Turner County was organized from parts of Irwin, Wilcox, Worth and Dooly counties in 1905. It is the state's 145th county and comprises 286 square miles. It is named for Confederate Captain Henry Gray Turner, veteran of Gettysburg, member of Congress and the state legislature, then a Georgia Supreme Court justice. Ashburn, the county seat, is named to honor W.W. Ashburn of Eastman who built a sawmill at this site and fostered expansion of the town that grew up around it. Many of the first settlers in the area were of Irish or German heritage.

Among the places of interest in the county are the Ashburn Commercial Historic District, which includes the courthouse and county jail; the Ashburn Heights and Shingler Heights historic neighborhoods; the Big Peanut monument, which symbolizes Ashburn's status as the home of the world's largest peanut-processing plant; and Wesleyan Methodist Campground and Tabernacle. Ashburn also hosts the annual Fire Ant Festival each March.


E Verify # 119605 as of May 12th, 2008

The Turner County Commission will hold its regularly scheduled County Meetings on the first Tuesday of each month and the Work Session on the last Tuesday of each month.  All meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center at 222 Rockhouse Road, Ashburn, GA 31714, unless otherwise posted.