The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, February 7, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the monthly Board Meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon present. Staff present were Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and Brent Hyde, County Attorney. Others present were Ashley Miller, Chamber Director, Sami Mastrario, Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Dustin Beaty, Public Works Director, and Mark Robinson, Fire Chief/EMA Director.

Chairman Calhoun called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mr. Ben Baker gave the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Commissioner Denham and seconded by Commissioner Burgess to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve financial information for October 2022 as presented, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Denham to approve Minutes of previous meetings (January 3rd and January 31st, 2023) as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, and Weaver voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to start the road closure process for Julianne Road, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Denham to approve payoff amount of \$56,292.00 for the motor grader with Yancey's Brothers Company (Serial #N9F01338, Machine Id # EM2191640) for Turner County Public Works Director, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Denham to start the collection process with Magistrate Court for delinquent garbage accounts for Turner County, motion passed with Commissioners Calhoun, Denham, and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioners Burgess and Weaver opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Denham to accept bid from Reeves Construction Company for resurfacing improvements Clements Chapel Road in the amount of \$408,911.75 and authorize the Chairman to sign agreement on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to select Statewide Engineering Firm for Turner County CDBG Project, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Denham to approve purchase of brush truck tank from Georgia Forestry for Turner County Fire in the amount of \$37,827.00, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Whiddon to contribute \$5,000.00 to the Fire Ant Festival for FY 2023, motion passed with Commissioners Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Burgess opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Whiddon to approve Executive Session Minutes for Tuesday, January 3, 2023, and Tuesday, January 31, 2023, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

County Manager Comments:

(1) John Deere Gator at Rec Dept.

(2) Tahoe will be delivered to Coroner from Sheriff's Office.

Public Comments: Ashley Miller, Chamber Director, thanked the board for the Fire Ant Festival contribution.

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Denham to go into Executive Session at 6:12 p.m. to discuss real estate and personnel, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Whiddon to return to the regular portion of the meeting at 6:25 p.m., motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Chairman Calhoun adjourned the meeting at 6:25 p.m.

Brad Calhoun, Chairman

Attest: ___

Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk