The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 3, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the Monthly Work Session and Regular Board Meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver (by telephone) and Whiddon present. Staff present were Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and Brent Hyde, County Attorney. Others present were Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Jim Lumpkin, Coroner, Jimmy Whiddon, Chief Deputy Charles Deans, Robby Royal, EMS Director, Dustin Beaty, Public Works Director, Councilman Gary Walker, Ashley Miller, Chamber of Commerce Director, Mandy Cole, Judge Blake Christian, and others.

Madam Chair Whiddon called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mr. Ben Baker gave the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Public Comments (Concerning agenda items): None

Chief Deputy Charles Dean spoke asking the Board permission to put the Sheriff's Office name on the list for new vehicles for June 2023.

Coroner Jim Lumpkin spoke about calls for services and a vehicle for the Coroner's Office.

Commissioners discussed the Chairman position for 2023.

Commissioners discussed appointment of the Vice-Chairman for 2023.

Commissioners discussed re-appointment of County Clerk.

Commissioners discussed re-appointment of County Attorney.

Commissioners discussed Liquor Ordinance and Application Fee.

Commissioners discussed Solar Remediation Plan.

Commissioners discussed Pledge of Allegiance.

Commissioners discussed Holiday Calendar for FY 2023/2024.

Commissioners discussed Executive Session Minutes for Tuesday, October 25, 2022, Tuesday, November 29, 2022, and Tuesday, December 27, 2022.

Commissioner Brad Calhoun accepted the Chairman position for 2023.

Motion by Commissioner Weaver seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to appoint Commissioner Denham as the Vice-Chairman for 2023, motion passed with Commissioners Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Burgess opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to reappoint County Clerk Latrice Wilson, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham and Weaver voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to reappoint County Attorney Brent Hyde, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to adopt minutes of previous meetings as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Weaver to adopt the Liquor Ordinance # 2023-01-01 and an application fee of \$1000.00, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Denham to table item 6 "Solar Remediation Plan" until further discussion, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Whiddon to continue to do the Pledge of Allegiance at the meetings, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Weaver opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Whiddon to approve the Holiday Calendar for FY 2023/2024, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Denham to approve Executive Session Minutes for Tuesday, October 25, 2022, Tuesday, November 29, 2022, and Tuesday, December 27, 2022, as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

County Manager Comments: Discussed CDBG Grant for Stanford Road.

County Attorney Comments: None.

Public Comments: Councilman Gary Walker spoke and thanked the Board for their part in the Local Option Sales Tax.

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Denham to go into Executive Session at 6:28 p.m. for personnel, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Whiddon to return to the regular portion of the meeting at 6:44 p.m., motion passed with Commissioner Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Denham to adjourn the meeting at 6:45 p.m.

Brad Calhoun, Chairman	
Attest:	
	Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk