The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the regular board meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard present. Staff present were Joseph Saxon, County Manager, Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and John Holland, County Attorney. Others present were Jan Winter, Elections Superintendent, Chief Deputy Charles Dean, Rose Mary Hall, Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Mr. & Mrs. David Smith, Remington Smith, Dustin Beaty, Road Superintendent, Robby Royal, EMS Director, Lynn Davis, Extension Coordinator, Faye Belflower, Will Watson, Ike Hobby, Coach Drew and others.

Chairman Denham called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Chairman Denham congratulated Commissioner Hall on his appointment to the ACCG Board of Managers as the District 11 Representative.

Mr. Ben Baker gave the invocation.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hall to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Commissioners present a proclamation to Remington Smith, Will Watson and Ike Hobby, as members of the Turner County 4-H LongShot Air Clovers Air Pistol Team, for competing in the 2019 Georgia 4-H SAFE Shooting Sports Championships for the Air Pistol Team.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to approve financial information for March 2019 as presented, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve minutes of previous meetings (May 2019) as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Commissioners agreed to table agenda item #1 "Consider amending Turner County Zoning Ordinance to include Turner County Solar Ordinance and authorize the Chairman to sign ordinance on behalf of the County."

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to approve Indigent Defense Contract for FY 2019-2020 for Tifton Judicial Circuit in the amount of \$79,996.16 and authorize the Chairman to sign the contract on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to appoint Mrs. Mary Lee Green to the Region 4 Regional Advisory Council for Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to proceed with and fund the Obstruction Clearing – Runway 17-35 project at Turner County Airport and request by letter state funding assistance in the amount of 50% of the eligible nonfederal share of the project and include matching funds estimated in the amount of \$2,000.00 from Turner County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Burgess to accept bid for insurance broker from Larocca & Associates, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Denham to accept bid for auditors from Meeks CPA Firm, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham and McCard voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Hall opposed the motion.

Public Comments: There were none.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Hall to approve Executive Session Minutes for Tuesday, March 26, 2019 as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Hall to go into Executive Session at 6:10 p.m. to discuss pending litigation, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to go back into the regular meeting at 6:38 p.m., motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 6:38 p.m.

Nick Denham, Chairman

Attest: ___

Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk